Governing Body

The Governors of WGSF are Trustees not only of the land, buildings and monies of the Foundation, but also of a 400 year tradition of education in Wakefield.

The Governors are a group of committed, hardworking people who support the schools not only through their attendance at meetings, but through their presence at Speech Days and at social, cultural and sporting events

There is a maximum of 19 Governors on the WGSF Governing Body. The Nominated Governors are appointed by outside bodies (such as a university) while the Co-opted Governors are elected by Board members. Governors are elected for a Four Year Term of Office.

Chair of Governors

Mr Simon Chamberlain MSc BA (Hons) ACIArb

Deputy Chair of Governors

Mrs Helen Massey BSc (Hons), MRICS Cert Mgmt

Director of Finance and Operations

Mr Laurence Perry BA (Hons) ACMA

PA to the Director of Finance and Operations

Mrs Miranda Tennant

Co-opted Governors

Mr Samuel Butterworth

Mrs Jane Claire

Mrs Frances Galbraith

Mrs Caroline Harrison

Mr Jonathan Jeffries

Prof. David Jenkins
BSc, DPhil (York)

Dr. S Khan
BDS (Edin.) M.Clin.Dent. (Lond.)

Mr Alistair McKinlay
BA (Hons) DipLaw, PGDip

Miss Elizabeth Peckett

Mrs Penelope Plumpton
​BA (Hons) PGCE

Ms Alison Tetley
BA (Hons), FCA

​Mr Tim Welton
BA (Hons), PG, Dip

Nominated by the Chapter of Wakefield Cathedral

Reverend Canon Leah Vasey-Saunders